Reviews

Command Post:

“The Command Post was even better than the photos! Immaculately clean and more spacious than we anticipated. The views of the water were perfect. We loved that it was set away from the busy towns but still very close to everything on the island. It was great to come in from hiking Acadia Park to a private, relaxing evening on the porch or by the fire. It was perfect for my husband and I to have relaxing week away!” K. Oakes, Airbnb October 22, 2016

The Command Post is unbelievable! Quiet location 15/20 mins to Bar Harbor, fantastic hiking and gorgeous view of Somes Sound. Very peaceful area, wonderful to come home to every day. The stars at night blew us away. We cooked most of our meals there and had everything we needed including a lobster pot. There are TVs and great wi-fi but we never turned the TV on the entire time we were there. The sleeping conditions were ideal and the bed was super. We would’ve loved to stay a month. Mimi and Rick are nice and welcoming, fun to talk to and very knowledgable about the area. We hope to be back!   K. Bondurant and Brandon, Airbnb, Aug. 2016

The Command Post is the perfect location for a quiet stay on MDI, a quick drive to Acadia and Bar Harbor where we spent much of our time when we weren’t relaxing at the cottage. Mimi and her family made us feel welcomed and comfortable, beginning with our initial communication. Our dog, the biggest hiker of our family, was welcome and enjoyed her stay as much as we did. We were nervous about our first Airbnb stay, but the Command Post exceeded our expectations. The cottage was clean, the furniture was comfortable (especially the bed and pillows) and the view on the porch deck can’t be beat. We will be a return renter, for sure. ~ M. Franklin, HomeAway, June 2016

“The Command Post: Beautiful Ocean and
Mountain Views. ”
Perfect Place to Stay!
The Command Post was the perfect place to stay. Great location and views. It’s located on
the quiet side of the island with easy access to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Nice
kitchen and bathroom. Comfortable king-size bed.
Very clean! My husband and I highly recommend it and would definitely stay here again.
~The Piaskowski’s, HomeAway, May 28, 2016

What a great rental in Acadia! This cottage had everything we needed, plus a magnificent view of the sunrise from bed every morning. The location was central to all points on the island yet was peaceful and private. ~ K. Post, Airbnb, May 2016

We had wonderful time in late March at The Command Post. The cabin is perfect and has everything you would need. The views are spectacular and the setting is quiet and peaceful. Incredibly easy access to everything on the island, there are great hiking trails within a 10 minute drive! There is plenty of information provided in the cabin by Maria, which makes it very easy to get acquainted with the island. The cabin was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A real highlight is the fantastic number of windows and great views you can enjoy while sitting on the comfortable couches with warmth from the gas fireplace. Kitchen was extremely well equipped and all the appliances worked well. Bathroom was great too with good water pressure, and linens/towels provided. Overall we had a fantastic time at The Command Post and wouldn’t hesitate to return.                                                                            ~Josh Rosen, Airbnb, March, 2016

What a great place! The Command Post had everything my husband and I were looking for in a vacation cottage. The views were amazing to wake up to every morning and the home was cozy and comforting to come back to every night after hiking and biking the Acadia trails. Would definitely stay here again.                                                    ~ Jess Mufflin, Airbnb, October. 2015

“We were very pleased with our experience with Maria and our stay at the Command Post. The house was extremely clean and well-equipped. The location is fantastic – conveniently close to Bar Harbor and all the major Acadia National Park highlights. Just a few minutes from the Acadia Mountain trail, also – don’t skip that hike, it was one of our favorites. We look forward to our next stay at the Command Post!”      ~Matt Borelli, Airbnb, October 2015

If you need peace, tranquility, and to experience the nature Maine has to offer, this is the place to be! The Commad Post is very clean, cute and cozy, but plenty of room for my husband and I along with our 2 dogs. Upon first entering the cottage, we were struck by the spectacular view of Somes Sound and the surrounding mountains which you can see from just about every room…..the pictures on the web site just can’t capture the beauty! In addition to enjoying the many activities MDI and Acadia have to offer, we especially liked viewing the wildlife from the deck (deer, red squirrel, woodpecker, and hummingbird) and on the boat ride of Somes Sound (seals, Dolphins, osprey, cormorants, loons, and a bald eagle). At night MDI really puts on a show with all the stars supporting the main draw, the Milky Way. Thanks to Mimi, Rick, and Sharon for your warm hospitality and for making our visit so memorable….a perfect way for “newlyretireds” to begin this chapter in our lives.  ~ Marcia P, HomeAway Oct. 2015

Staying at a Mooers vacation home is the best! The hosts make you feel right at home; they are there for anything you might need. The property is always super clean and well maintained. Over the years, we have stayed at Command Post and Sky Water. We have very special memories from each and are looking forward to next year ~ J. Graves, HomeAway, Sept. 2015

Our family has made the Command Post our home away from home!!! We have stayed at the Command Post multiple times since 2010. We have traveled with our two dogs and more recently with our little boy! I can’t begin to tell you how enjoyable our experiences have been! The Command Post is truly the most peaceful and tranquil place for us! Within a short distance from Acadia National Park’s most beautiful sights, the Command Post is our resting spot as we take in all that Acadia has to offer. The views of Somes Sound from the deck of the Command Post is amazing! We awake to enjoy the sunrise above the mountains overlooking the Sound, so enjoy watching the boats glide over the water, and feel the ocean air blow in. We also love the sounds of the toads croaking in the small ponds amidst the quarry that surrounds it. The Command Post offers it all; all the luxuries and conveniences of a comfortable home, the spectacular views of Acadia area, and a truly tranquil place to rejuvenate your mind, body, and soul! I would highly recommend this location for your next vacation spot! In addition to all of this, Mimi Mooers has always made sure that our stay is just perfect in every way! Our true home away from home!!! ~ Kristen Strong, HomeAway, June 2014

We had an great time on MDI and in Acadia NP – despite the Government shutdown – Command Post was the perfect place to stay and the view of Somes Sound is spectacular. The house is small and mostly suited to two people. It is well designed and very well constructed. I don’t think I’d feel a draft, even in the middle of winter. The views of the Sound and the surrounding property were highlighted by the large windows in the bedroom and living room, as well as the sliding glass doors in the living room. The house was very clean and well appointed with everything we could possibly have needed for our stay. There are neighbors, but their houses are a good distance away and seen just through the trees, so peace and quiet are virtually guaranteed. For a vacation house, it had everything we could ever have needed and lots of things we didn’t even know we needed. The owners are very friendly and take wonderful care of the property. I’d definitely recommend the place to friends. ~ Julia and Larry Reilly, HomeAway, Oct. 2013

Beautiful view of the sound and mountains on other side. Clean, neat and comfortable. Owners easy to rent with. Very quiet area. Comfy big bed.~ Penny Restine

Fantastic: My wife and I stayed the week of 9/22 -9/29. The Command Post is simply amazing. Cozy with great views of Somes Sound and mountains. Deer right out front every day. We look forward to returning next year. Two weeks this time. ~ Bob Horsham

Wonderful Vacation: The Command Post was even more wonderful than expected! We loved the location and the beautiful view. We were so happy to be able to bring our dog with us. Mimi and Rick were extremely helpful with any questions we had. It was very quiet and peaceful but close to Bar Harbor. We enjoyed exploring the nearby towns. We visited Acadia everyday. We hated to leave and will recommend this property to our friends. ~ Kathy Panett

Perfect Vacation Get-Away Spot: We spent two weeks at the Command Post in June 2011 and it was awesome! Rick and Mimi and Sharon are warm and welcoming as is the Command Post. The location is spectacular and the views make time at the cottage well spent! We loved our stay and we will definitely go back. ~ Kris Sharp.

 Seaweed:

“Amazing Cabin – Wonderful Family/Owners”  This was our second year at Seaweed and our 13th year renting with the Mooers & Musetti Families. We continue to return year after year due to their wonderful hospitality, the beautiful cabin and our love of Acadia. The cabin was rebuilt from the ground up and is such a gem! It is in a nice private location right on the water, with easy access to all Mt. Desert’s charms. The property is kept extremely clean and well-maintained. Everything you could need for your visit is there and in perfect working order or comfort-level. The owners, Rick and Mimi are fabulous hosts and you can tell they care a lot about their property as well as the island they call home. I would highly recommend any property rental from this family. We continue to return year after year and start to count down the days to our next visit the day we leave.~H. Hartman via HomeAway, September 24, 2016

“Great location, fantastic views”   We’ve stayed with Hall Quarry Rentals each summer since 2013. “Seaweed” is right on the water, we can hop in a cottage kayak and paddle to nearby Acadia trails or launch our boat. The cottage is fully renovated but still a cozy feel. Located on the “quiet side” of Acadia, still close to great restaurants, lakes, and trails – and a short drive to fine dining in Bar Harbor and all the outdoor activities the rest of the park and island have to offer. Breakfast or sunset on the deck offers spectacular views, including the occasional sailboat race going by. Our small dogs are welcome (on their best behavior!). Mimi and Rick are great hosts – a Somes Sound and harbor cruise in their boat is part of the fun. The property is clean and well-maintained. D. Casey via HomeAway, Sept 2, 2016

“Highly Recommended”:  We have had the pleasure of staying at Seaweed during three summers. This spacious and comfortable cottage is the perfect place to relax and gaze at beautiful Somes Sound. It is situated near great hiking trails, kayaking spots, and our favorite restaurants. What more could you ask? The owners, Mimi and Rick, are super friendly and responsive. We look forward to yet another wonderful stay at Seaweed this September.~A. Decharon, via HomeAway

“Perfect!!”:  This cottage is a little piece of heaven on earth! Spotlessly clean, comfortable, and one of the best locations on Mount Desert Island, we have stayed here for many summers and it is always the highlight of our year. Mimi and Rick are excellent hosts, and have become like family. You will not be disappointed if you choose this wonderful place for your vacation!~C. Chandler, Connecticut via HomeAway

This was our first visit to Maine. We couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay. The cottage is beautifully furnished. A home away from home. The scenery is breath taking. This is a terrific place to come to get away from the hustle and bustle. Acadia Nat’l Park and Bar Harbor are less than 30 minutes away. Our three teenagers loved it too. They kayaked, climbed on the rocks, hiked, and just plain enjoyed all the “nature”. We can’t wait to come back next year. ~ Charlene Dotson, June 2015

“The perfect place to recharge and be inspired.”:I’ve spent quite a bit of time in Maine through the years and Hall Quarry stands out as an extraordinary place! It is low-key and quiet and incredibly beautiful. And, Seaweed specifically is a wonderful spot that would be hard to beat on MDI. The design of the cottage provides panoramic views of Somes Sound with water access at your doorstep— literally. The cottage is comfortable and immediately welcoming, offering all of the amenities you’d want for a home-away-from-home including a wonderful outdoor fire pit on the water’s edge! Morning, afternoon and night the changing light and skyscape outside these windows provide endless inspiration and interest. Hall Quarry is close to lakes, trails and restaurants and just short drives to Southwest Harbor and Bar Harbor. I stayed here for two weeks this year and look forward to returning in 2016 for three weeks! It is a perfect place to recharge, relax and do some creative work as well. ~  Victoria Philadelphia, PA,  May 2015

Seaweed Is A Hidden Gem: My three young children and myself spent a week at Seaweed and we had a blast! There were no surprises from what the website showed and described to what we actually encountered. The house was clean, bright, fully equipped and came with a million dollar view. Upon arrival on our first day we were greeted with a view of 30 to 40 sailboats silently racing down Somes Sound. At night we had caught tinker mackeral and harbor pollack right off our dock. The kids went wild! We explored the immediate coastline in kayaks and saw starfish of various colors and sizes, explored tidal pools, saw osprey and a bald eagle and went swimming in nearby Echo Lake. The small town of Southwest Harbor was a short distance away and provided plenty of quiet small town charm, with a friendly, low-key atmosphere and great places to eat. The children were even able to take out books from the town library which was really a nice touch. Mimi and Rick were great hosts and couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful. Rick even took us all out on his boat to watch him check his lobster pots while he gave us a history of the area and share his lobster catching secrets. There are tons of activities to do, and I realized that we coud explore this quiet side of Acadia National Park for years and never see all it has to offer. that is why we will be back, and we’ll dream of little Seaweed until then. ~ Paul Mahon

Deer Track 

This immaculate, charmingly decorated cabin is better than its pictures. Waterfront deck (saw porpoises our last day!), fireplace with wood supplied, outdoor fire pit, use of kayaks, amazing views from the cottage, even from the bed! It was hard leaving every morning to explore the beauty of Mount Desert Isle, and coming back was always a pleasure. The location is ideal, just far enough into the “Quietside” to be peaceful, but Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor are a pretty 20 minutes drive away, and cute Southwest Harbor about 5. I can’t say enough about what a lovely place this is, I can’t imagine wanting to stay anywhere else.                             ~ J. Gilbert, HomeAway, June 2016

“My wife and I had a truly wonderful time staying at Deer Track Cabin on Somes Sound for our honeymoon. It is such a peaceful and quiet location, with a beautiful view right from the deck. We arrived late and we felt right at home with the bed nicely made and wood and newspaper already arranged to start a fire. October was also a really nice time to visit and see the leaves changing… and experience a little more peace and quiet in Bar Harbor then if we had gone during tourist season. If you’re looking for a getaway in Maine, I couldn’t recommend Deer Track more highly!”                             ~Matt Stein, Airbnb, Sept 2015

Deer Track lives up to its name. When we would return in the early evening we were always great by three or four deer. Every morning we enjoyed the beautiful sunrise and sitting on the deck drinking our morning coffee while watching the porpoises and seals swimming in the Sound. We had a eagle fly ten feet over our heads while sitting on the deck relaxing after a bike ride on the carriage roads. The cabin is rustic cozy. Everything you need for a stay is provided. The hot shower with water pressure had my other half screaming with joy (we have stayed other places and had no water pressure). The fireplace was perfect on the one rainy fall like day we had. Rick and Mimi were both wonderful. Rick set me up with lobster after returning from checking his traps, it doesn’t get any fresher than that. I am sorry we missed the boat ride offer with them. I have been going to Mount Desert Island for 20 years and stayed in many different places so far Deer Track is my favorite. You can not beat the location and million dollar view (that is what the houses down the road and on the other side are on the market for). We have already been penciled in to return next year.                   Sean F., HomeAway, Sept 2015

Can’t say enough great things about this charming, rustic, slightly modern, little cabin, located on the granite hillside above Somes Sound in Hall Quarry. We arrived after dark, but the cabin greeted us warmly with it’s exposed pine interior and large granite floor to ceiling fireplace. With just enough modern conveniences for a very comfortable stay, we were needing nothing. The cleanliness is top notch! I’ve stayed in expensive hotels that aren’t as clean! If you are looking for big screen and surround sound, stay elsewhere. If you truly want to escape today’s hectic, high tech world, this is the perfect place, although there is wireless internet which made things very convenient for us with no trips to a café. The view of the Sound with the moonrise at night, along with morning sunrise as the cabin faces east, makes you want to stay for much longer than you have booked. We have stayed on MDI in campgrounds and various rentals over the last ten years, and this by far is the only place we would recommend or stay at again. Thank you Mimi and Rick for doing such a spectacular job with your property. ~ T and V Peters  Oct. 2014

Deer Track: It is about location, location, location. Deer Track has that for sure. A very popular area on the water ways, mountains area on the other side. A cozy little cabin nestled in the trees along the water front. Nice and quiet. Everything you need is there and in the area to keep you busy enjoying all it has to offer. It was money well spent for the memories you will have in exchange. I’m glad we found this cute little place to get away for the week. Until next time, so long for Florida……….~ Kevin Valentine

Perfect: Our time on Somes Sound couldn’t have been better. We have Deer Tracks and Hall Quarry Rentals to thank for that. The cottage is adorable and was impeccably clean upon arrival. While we had already acquired maps and points of interest to do while we were in the area there is no need! The renters had a binder in the cottage full of their suggestions of things to do in the area and previous guests had left a little note of their suggestions as well – a very nice touch. The cottage is completely equip with any cooking utensils and supplies you would need while on vacation, including a charcoal grill. My husband was thrilled. It was so nice to have access to the water and a dock – we kayaked right off the dock daily! The cottage is perfectly located in the middle of Acadia National Park – between Bar Harbor and Bass Harbor. There is so much to do in the area: hiking, biking, site seeing, whale watching, dining out. While we did have a great time during the day out and about it was a relief to return to such a quaint and comfortable cottage each night! We can’t wait to return to Deer Track next year. ~ Mallary Whipple

My partner and I stayed at Deer Track for a week in October with our dog, and we absolutely loved the cabin!  And, as the name would suggest, we saw lots of deer!  The cabin is adorable and cozy with a prize-winning view.  The open layout makes great use of a small space.  We especially loved the expansive deck, the central fireplace, and the king size bed tucked into its own cozy nook.  The cabin is comfortable but rustic.  If you’re looking for luxury, stay elsewhere.  If you’re looking for a comfortable and cozy place to sleep where you’ll wake to a glorious sunrise over the fjord, this cabin is for you.  The kitchen is small but nicely laid out.  The bathroom is small and – with a curtain for a door- does not offer the privacy some might require, but it was perfect for us.  The uninterrupted view of Somes Sound and the mountains from high up on the cliff is stunning, and the location is perfect–on the quiet side of the island but close to everything.  Mimi and Rick are great!  They’re friendly, helpful, and available.  We always had plenty of firewood, towels, etc.  Even the dog was sad to leave at the end of the week.  It had become home.  We’re already planning our next stay at Deer Track! ~ J.B. Sweeney, Sept. 2012

Other Cottages Managed by Owners:

The two of us loved every moment we stayed at Skywater. The guest book in the house had notes from people who had been coming for 25 and 35 years! Our October stay was warm and cozy with gorgeous views across the Sound. The cottage felt larger inside than we expected and was plenty roomy for the two of us. The kitchen was a good size and was well stocked with good quality cooking supplies. The bed’s mattress and pillows were of good quality and we slept comfortably. The wifi was much appreciated. The house and grounds were clean and well cared for. The house has large windows on the front and side, which I enjoyed. I spent many hours watching lobster boats, sea gulls and even a couple of porpoises! I have never stayed in a rental home that was as quiet as this was. Inside we never heard any noise from outside. Outside we heard little except for leaves blowing in the breeze and waves lapping on the shore. A happy surprise for us was that this side of the island has a great amount to offer. We made only short trips to Bar Harbour and the heavily touristy parts of the island. The side of the island that the cottage is on has an immense amount to offer, without the crowds. We hiked Acadia Mountain and rode bikes on the carriage trails over there. We ate at restaurants and lobster pounds. We visited galleries and shops. There was so much to do that we did not get to most of it. I can say that we will try to rent this home again if we return to the area. It is, by far, my favorite rental from VRBO.

~ J. Johnson, HomeAway, Oct. 2015

 “We had a fantastic stay at Skywater. The cabin is exactly as pictured, well appointed kitchen, and an amazing view of Somes Sound. The cabin is private, quiet, and cozy. We could not have asked for more. Thrilled to see Eagles in the area. The location is extremely convenient to all park activities as well as Bar Harbor. We will definitely return! Mimi was particularly helpful after I hurt my back by offering her personal heating pad and Chiropractor contact ”                                                K. Catlin, Airbnb, Sept. 2015

We had an amazing experience. It’s hard to imagine a better view than the Somes sound. The location is a great jumping point for Acadia and the rest of mount desert. Mimi really catered to us and the kayaks available saved us 100s of dollars for the amount of kayaking we did. The cabin is cozy and has everything you need. We highly recommend it and hope to be back soon!                                                        R. Strehlow, Airbnb, Sept. 2015

Staying at a Mooers vacation home is the best! The hosts make you feel right at home; they are there for anything you might need. The property is always super clean and well maintained. Over the years, we have stayed at Command Post and Sky Water. We have very special memories from each and are looking forward to next year ~ J. Graves

Over the years our annual vacations at Skywater have more than met our needs! The view from the cabin and deck offers beautiful scenery with local boating activity. Motorcycling Acadia National Park and enjoying blueberry pie is a must for us!  ~ Mary. F., HomeAway, June 2015

Amazing cottage right on Somes Sound!  This is the most perfect spot to recharge your batteries! The location is amazing and it comfortably furnished with everything you could possible need. Wake up to the deer grazing in the yard and watch the sunrise over the hills. In the evening you can hear the loons and watch the hills change colors in the fading light…Stars at night are incredible. If you are lucky you will see some beautiful yachts and catch the sailboat races with multicolor spinnakers! Truly a beautiful, restful cottage that you will never want to leave! ~ F. Riggari  July 2015

Skywater was the perfect place for us to stay on Mt. Desert. The cottage exceeded our expectations: it was cozy and comfortable, and bigger than we’d expected from the photos. We went to sleep to the sound of peepers and waves lapping the shore right below the cottage. The setting was so peaceful and beautiful. We saw lots of wildlife! We were a bit hesitant to stay so far from Bar Harbor and the entrance to Acadia, but found that the great location was well worth it. Maria was friendly and welcoming and easy to get in touch with. We’d love to stay here again in the future. …Lise McGinness, Airbnb  May 2015

“The best place ever!”  We have been staying at Skywater each year for many years. The views are amazing and I consider it to be my special slice of Heaven! The Musetti family is warm, welcoming, loving and helpful. The cottage is comfortable with excellent furnishings, a beautiful granite fireplace and heat for those chilly nights in the fall. It is located on the “quiet side” of the island and it is tranquil and peaceful. You can watch the deer wander about feeding in the early morning and watch the sailboat races from the deck. Beautiful ships come in and out of the sound daily and are amazing to watch. But the best sights are the sunrise and the sunsets….the stars at night are most amazing and bright….lying in bed you can raise your eyes and see millions of stars from the window over your head…this is a place that recharges your body and soul….. ~ D. Hamblen   Sept. 2014

Skywater is truly one singular sensation!  Having come to Mt. Desert Island since 1975 and staying in Skywater since 1980, I can honestly say that it’s like a home away from home. Beyond that, the Musetti family is like a ‘second’ family, having known grandparents, parents, and now grandchildren and great grandchildren! Skywater affords peace, privacy, among the best views on the island, and an annual experience that is always cherished during the rest of the year. There simply is no other place like it this side of paradise. ~Harvey K

Review-Header